Clean up ignored that artifacts were meant to be kept Follow
I couldn't find an issue logged in the issue tracker, but I didn't log it because we still haven't upgraded to 5.0. Still running 4.5.1.
As you can see in the attached screenshot, artifacts are set to be kept for 365 days, however the clean history section is set to the default. When the clean up ran last night it removed all builds that were older than 14 days as per the clean history section, without considering the clean artifacts section which says "clean artifacts and keep history and statisical data". Is this bug fixed in a newer version, or should I log it?
The other bug here is that you cannot set unlimited for a custom policy in the UI, it always reverts back to the default policy. We worked around this by setting it to keep 365 days of builds, but it would be good if we didn't have to do it like that.
Please sign in to leave a comment.
Actually, you can keep artifacts only if corresponding history item is kept as well.
"Clean artifacts" section allows you to clean artifacts and keep history and statistical data. You set to clean artifacts older than 365 - ok, they are deleted and their history data will be kept.
After that you have a section to clean history - but cleaning the history will clean artivacts data as well.
Later sections remove more data than previous one.
Your misunderstanding is a usability issue for TeamCity, but not a bug. We don't have an option to keep artifacts but remove history data.
I have no intention of keeping the artifacts but removing the history. We misconfigured TeamCity by not setting it to clean history at least 365 days old. I would have expected if you said for TeamCity to keep 365 days of artifacts it would choose to keep them rather than going with the second section that said to clean history older than 14 days. So basically, I expected it to go top to bottom to determine if it needs to clean the build, and stop looking if any step says not to clean the build (because that is how the labels in the software read).
In TeamCity, all sections are applied, one after another. Looks like we should make it more clear from the UI.
I've created a request for that: http://youtrack.jetbrains.net/issue/TW-10810, please watch/vote it.