User settings disappeared

This morning we came in to find that all of our user specific settings were gone. No one has any watched builds, main display has all the projects and builds listed rather then having them displayed in the order the user set up (via "Configure visible projects"). We also had to log in again. The networking guys said that the only thing they did was to stop the server (and numerous other ones) this weeked in order to swap out a flaky switch and reset some proxy settings.

Where are the user specific settings stored?


TC Enterprise build 8944
MySql backend

9 comments
Comment actions Permalink

Hello,

   The information about users is stored in user_projects_visibility, user_projects_order, remember_me tables. Please check them out.

   To investigate the problem, we may need the archive of the TeamCity/logs directory.

   Regards,
   KIR

0
Comment actions Permalink

user_projects_visibility and user_projects_order were empty
user_watch_type had a couple of records that were linked to users that no longer exist (they were removed when we switched to ldap a couple of months ago)
remember_me has 9 records but they are encrypted so I can't tell what they are.

I've attached all logs except the ldap logs.

I reset my project order and verified that the corresponding changes were made in the user_projects_order table.

thanks
-eric



Attachment(s):
logs.zip
0
Comment actions Permalink

Hello,

  Could you also please attach ldap-config.properties file from your LDAP configuration? Or send it directly to kir@jetbrains.com.

  Thanks!
  KIR

0
Comment actions Permalink

Eric,

One more question: do the usernames of new users differ from old usernames?

---
Maxim

0
Comment actions Permalink

When we switched to using LDAP the users names changed to their network names. They had to reset all of their settings after the switch.


-eric

0
Comment actions Permalink

Sent via email

thanks
--eric

0
Comment actions Permalink

Hello Eric,

  In the LDAP configuration file you have enabled setting
  teamcity.options.deleteUsers=true

  I suppose that when network was disconnected TeamCity lost access to LDAP server, and removed all the users. Later, when network was restored, all users were restored.
  Unfortunately, we didn't find find corresponding records in the attached logs - they were reverted and corresponding records do not exist.

  I believe the switch was changed on Sataday, June 27 and we have server logs starting from June,28.

  Probably LDAP logs contain corresponding records. I'd appreciate if you send archive with LDAP logs to the same e-mail.

  Thanks!

  KIR

0
Comment actions Permalink

Sent via email.
The log confirms excatly what you said. The server could not connect to the the ldap server so it removed all the users and their settings. Later it added them all back in.
I'll change the deleteusers to false for now.
But it would be very nice if the tc server did nothing to the users and groups when it cannot connect to the ldpa server. (maybe issue an email to the admin though).

thanks for all the help
--eric

0
Comment actions Permalink

Eric,

Users have been deleted because the network began to work right between user and group sync. So when the group synchronization started, the plugin had an empty list of LDAP users, and removed all TeamCity users.
The issue is now fixed (will be in 4.5.4).

Thanks, Maxim

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.