Perforce issue: p4 sync -f used too liberally when updating vcs, how can I disable it?

Hey guys,

I have a large perforce project that I am using team city as the build system for. My project has 100s GB of data on the server  (Code and assets) required for building an instance of our product. Whenever a build gets cancelled or perforce is down and it fails to update Team city will sync the workspace using the p4 sync -f command. This forces a redownload of the entire project which takes hours given the ammount of data in our project. I have enabled clobber in the client options which should (for my purposes) completely make the use of p4 sync -f unnecessary. This is very damaging to our work flow so much so that my company is considering moving away from team city. I can't find any documentation on this in the team city manual. Can someone help me out with how to disable this protocol or how to negate the negative effects of this command?

Best Regards,

Eoin

2 comments
Comment actions Permalink

Hi Eoin,

Sorry for late reply. We have the related feature request - https://youtrack.jetbrains.com/issue/TW-33168, please watch/vote for it.
The current workaround is to use "do not checkout" mode and perform the checkout on the passed revision inside the script. Unfortunately it will work only if you are not using personal builds/pre-tested commit with the build configuration.

0
Comment actions Permalink

Hi Alina,

Thanks for this workaround it's perfect for now until team city improve their perforce integration,

Best Regards,

Eoin

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.