Can TeamCity server be disabled through the web interface?

Scenario 1:
IT needs to install latest security patches on TC server or upgrade the database that hosts TC info, which requires me to coordinate with them. I need to wait until all builds complete, quickly login remotely into the TC server and disable the TC service, all before the upgrade happens. It would be nice if I could click on some kind of "Disable server" (similarly to "disable agent"), which would do the job for me (after completing the running builds, of course). I realize that it may not be possible to shut down the Windows service this way, but what I am really looking for is to shut down any updates to TC database/configuration files to avoid loss of TC data.

Scenario 2:
An upgrade to one or more agents. I end up clicking "disable agent" for each TC agent, but having a single "disable server" would make it easier.

"Disable all agents" would be a step in the right direction for both scenarios (more so for #2), but it still leaves the possibility of attempts to update the TC database or configuration files with data unrelated to builds (e.g. email notification preferences). I am afraid of losing this data in cases when an upgrade does something non-trivial (like a reboot).

Are there any workarounds to avoid data loss?

Thanks,
Oleg.

5 comments
Comment actions Permalink

Oleg,

Actually, you can shutdown TeamCity server while the builds are still running. When the server comes up, the agents will reconnect and send the data gathered while the server was off-line.
This should work fine except for the several known issues:
- if your builds have huge build logs agent can drop the build because running out of memory
- if the build is getting sources form the server during server shutdown the build will be canceled

Actually, we upgrade our internal server quite regularly and never wait for the builds to complete.
BTW, here are several notes on our internal server upgrade procedure.

And finally, here is an issue to allow "hibernate" state for TeamCity to allow backing up without actual server shutdown. This should cover both scenarios you mentioned.

0
Comment actions Permalink

Yegor,

Thanks for your reply. I have voted for the "freeze" issue - this will do the trick for me.

As far as scenarios go, our build logs are about 1.5 Mb right now, so I don't think we'll have a problem with that. If I shut down the server during source downoad, as long as the cancellation will be logged properly when the server is back up, that's fine since we'll pick up the changes in the next build.

What do you think about "disable all agents"/"enable all agents" buttons/links? I think it would be convenient as opposed to going through each agent (imagine that I'm a VIP customer and have 100 agents :)) and potentially entering the same message for each agent.

Best regards,
Oleg.

0
Comment actions Permalink

I would like some feedback for "enable/disable all agents" question.

0
Comment actions Permalink

Oleg,

You can file a new feature request into our tracker and let's see how many votes it will get. In the meantime this can be implemented as a plugin to TeamCity.

0
Comment actions Permalink

Thanks. I filed the request as TW-6006.

Edited by: Yegor Yarko (JetBrains) on Oct 28, 2008 5:55 PM

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.