Making the project globally invisible to all users?

Hello,

I want to make several TeamCity projects invisible.  So I logged in as admin and set them to be invisible in "Configure Visible Projects".  However, I discovered that for any other user, other than admin, the projects are still visible.  Is there any way to make the project invisible globally?  

Thank you!

10 comments
Comment actions Permalink

If your instance is 6.5 (Professional Edition) and upwards:

For this you may have to go in and disable the privilege for the role. If you have Per Project Roles enabled in Server Admin

roles.GIF

(Otherwise if you are Enterprise Edition)

then you will have to hide the project from the all users role as follows. Go to Administration > Users and Groups - select groups tab then click on ALL USERS. you will see a project listing that the users are able to see. Deselect the project from their view BUT make sure that it is still selected the groups that you want to be able to see it

this should satisify your needs

Paul

Message was edited by: Paul Stack

Message was edited by: Paul Stack

0
Comment actions Permalink

Hi Paul,

Thanks for your reply.  However, I cannot find where to enable per-project permissions.  Where do I look for this checkbox?

roles.GIF

Also, I followed Administration > Users and Groups > Groups tab --> All Users, but do not see a project listing there.  It has 4 tabs "General", "Users", "Roles", "Notification Rules" but none of them list the projects.  Maybe that is because I don't have per-project permissions enabled?

Please help!

Thanks,
Maria

0
Comment actions Permalink

Also, my TeamCity is still version 5.1.  Maybe "Enable per-project permissions" is not part of this version?  I've looked all over for it.

0
Comment actions Permalink

Also, my TeamCity is still version 5.1.  Maybe "Enable per-project permissions" is not part of this version?  I've looked all over for it.

0
Comment actions Permalink

My apologies - I don't think this can be done on the Professional (free) version of 5.1 - maybe one of the developers can say for sure though

I have updated my original answer to say 6.5 upwards

paul

0
Comment actions Permalink

Hi Paul,

Mine is not the Professional (free) version.  It is the Enterprise version 5.1.  There's still no way to do this?

Thanks,
Maria

0
Comment actions Permalink

Hi Maria

by default the Enable roles per project will be switched on then - if you can just follow the rest of the steps then that should work for you

Paul

0
Comment actions Permalink

Paul,

Thank you very much for your answers.  I tried following the rest of the steps already:

"Go to Administration > Users and Groups - select groups tab then click on ALL USERS. you will see a project listing that the users are able to see."

Once I get to All Users, I don't see the project listing.  There are 4 possible tabs there -- General, Users, Roles, Notification Rules.  None of these tabs list projects.  Am I looking in the wrong place?

Thanks,
Maria

0
Comment actions Permalink

It should be a listing in the Roles tab

0
Comment actions Permalink

Under the "Roles" tab, it says:

Projects Role
<All projects> Project developer


No other projects.  What does that mean?  Anything I can do about it?
0

Please sign in to leave a comment.