TC tends to reset changes in build-queue-priorities.xml sometimes

Hello,

My team has recently started controlling TeamCity configuration files with Puppet.

We've noticed that after Puppet agent applies its build-queue-priorities.xml content, like e.g. [1] below, some of our TC servers reset the file to its vanilla state - like [2] (until Puppet re-ovewrites it on its next cycle of course).

I can't see a pattern to this, but this definitely does take place from time to time on three 9.0.4 and one 8.1.3 instances. They have their build queue priorities plugin version as it was shipped with those TC releases.

Anybody knows what might be the reason that TC happens to reset the file's contents?

[1]
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<!--
############################################################
# This file is managed by Puppet. Do not edit it manually. #
# Local modifications will be overwritten!                 #
############################################################
-->


<priority-classes>
  <priority-class id="PERSONAL" name="Personal" priority="0" description="Contains all personal builds" >
  </priority-class>
</priority-classes>


[2]
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<priority-classes>
  <priority-class id="PERSONAL" name="Personal" priority="0" description="Contains all personal builds" />
</priority-classes>

2 comments
Comment actions Permalink

Hi John,

build-queue-priorities.xml file is updated if you change Build Queue Priorities via UI and reverted back to standard format (with no comments), values are preserved.
If you want TeamCity to preserve comments in this file, please create feature request in our tracker.

0
Comment actions Permalink

Thing is nobody's touching the build queue priorities settings in the UI. TC just voluntarily resets the file, as I described in my 1st post in this thread.

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.