Versioned settings are globally disabled on the server, reason: settings in VCS correspond to another TeamCity version.

I'm migrating our TeamCity server to a new server and after the migration, upgrade it as well from 9.0.3 to 9.1.3. Note, this is a test migration/upgrade. If the tests run ok, we will use this scenario to upgrade to the new version.

After I migrated (and upgraded to 9.1.3) the server, I get the 'confusing' message:

Versioned settings are globally disabled on the server, reason: settings in VCS correspond to another TeamCity version. If this is the main server, click "Enable" to commit the current server settings to VCS.


From the documentation, it is not clear what it means. Is this message only to prevent that you get multiple commits from multiple teamcity servers or are the VCS settings changed in 9.1.3 in such a way that I need to update the VCS roots of the affected projects as well. So, would it be safe to "Enable" if this is a migrated server?

Thanks,
Mariska.

3 comments
Comment actions Permalink

Hi Mariska,

The settings in the VCS are stored in the same format as in the TeamCity Data Directory. The format of the settings differs from one TeamCity version to another. Also it is not recommended to commit from multiple TeamCity servers.
If this is a test server, then please do not enable functionality to store project settings in VCS. Also please ensure that you disabled/changed other settings from this list.

0
Comment actions Permalink

Thanks for your response. However, I will have to test this, else I cannot fully test the upgrade. Is it possible to just enable it on the test projects?

0
Comment actions Permalink

No, it is not possible to use one VCS repository to store settings of different TeamCity versions. If you want to test it, you can create test VCS root and store project settings in it.

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.