Versioned Settings enabled, (local git repo) Files are created and immediately deleted. Why?

Completed

I enabled ``Versioned Settings`` (local git repo)
In this case, configuration files are created and immediately deleted. Why?





3 comments
Comment actions Permalink

Hi,

 

the issue here is slightly different. TeamCity is not interacting with the directory you are watching, but interacts with the bare git repository which exists on it. TeamCity adds the most recent commit and moves the HEAD to it, which contains the newly created files. When you use your git client to check the status, git reports that there should be a set of files on the current commit, but because those files are not created in the actual directory structure, they are displayed as "deleted". If you reverse all changes in the current directory to the state of the latest commit (which is the commit teamcity performed), the files appear. This gives the impression that teamcity is deleting the files, but they are not being created in the first place, only the git repository is being affected.

 

Hope this makes sense. If you have any further question, please don't hesitate to ask.

0
Comment actions Permalink

Hi, Denis. Thank you for answer.

Suppose I understand the reason, but why is the implementation like this? 
This is inconvenient not to view the settings, not to edit them.
Or the only problem is that I'm using a local repo?
0
Comment actions Permalink

Hi,

 

the only issue is that you are using a local repo. You can actually test this by yourself by simply cloning the initial directory into a second one, and pulling every time you commit changes from the UI. Every time you commit and the files show as "deleted", you can run git pull in your second repository and the files will be present and not deleted.

1

Please sign in to leave a comment.